Don’t forget to buy bread

When I was a child and I studied piano

I always heard a voice in my head

“Don’t forget to buy bread”

“do not forget”

 

Until I gave up the instrument

and started writing

It didn’t spare me.

As I sat on the stool as it began.

 

I wrote what I wrote and it started again

“Now what do you want from me?”

I would slap it in the face

but it’s a voice

No matter how annoying would be

voices cannot be grabbed by the collar

an thrown out in the street.

 

I bought bread for an entire neighborhood

I kept buying bread

and it doesn’t leave me alone.

 

As I sit at the desk

It starts again: “see? you always forget to buy bread”

 

Yes, you’re right, bloody voice

I’m a loser

an unbearable one

I have an ugly and lazy character

I am capricious and passionate

I had a difficult teenage

and an even more terrible youth

leave me alone

I’ve only been eating raw vegetables for ten years

I also quit smoking a long time ago

and music

 

I don’t even write seriously

I’m just pretending

like when I was a kid

and I was imitating handwriting

putting down on paper lines and curves without meaning

 

Even now my words make no sense

 

You know I do nothing else but to carry

crates full of bread

as high as the church walls

and I have no one to feed

 

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t forget to buy bread

  1. Holy shit, this is haunting. I especially resonated with the writing without meaning, and drawing lines/curves as a kid without understanding how to write letters or words. This is profound and powerful.

    Like

Leave a comment