The vulnerable

If you stick your ear to the wrist of my hand you could hear the cries of the defeated, the songs of the soldiers in the front line. The spasms of the lost ones.

I I hurt myself in my own words

They make convulsions invoking impossible places and situations

Every random glance covers me into black dust

Unwanted caresses leave me bruised

Even the wind in a book can knock me to the ground

I can see an eight-year-old boy carrying a wheelbarrow through me

It advances between my ribs like in a mine, in the dark

He walks with his head bowed and a knot in his throat

He does not dare to hum

The strong ones, the winners bury themselves with their horses, with their smoke and storms

In brand new bedding

They make promises that they break off twice a year

The strong make the raft on their backs

They let themselves fall, slip, break their bones

They can afford to be afraid or desperate

They believe in Ego

They shout “Me, me” when they fight monsters

They go out for lunch like birds of prey gushing from bottomless hats

They stop the traffic and shout their self love or hate

***

We stay embraced for years in transparent bed sheets

In a transparent city

In a world so broken that it’s almost gone

Two defeated among so many winners who never knew the shame of longing

winners sharpening their weapons in silence night by night

waiting for dawn

***

The invulnerable are alone and above all they handle any situation

They always find a crack in the wall

or a single woman from whom to make pencil sharpeners

or gunpowder

they always stumble upon an abandoned house in which to improvise a battle ring

***

I’m afraid to spill over

I’m afraid to throw my net into unknown waters

I’m afraid to look into the eyes of the child carrying the wheelbarrow through the darkness gathered in my chest

I’m also afraid to leave him in the dark

Everything passed away, hope first

But that flame continues to burn through the impalpable bed sheets

through the rubble of time

The desire remained untouched

***

The strong ones come with scandal, with whips, with handkerchiefs

They are alone and circulate everywhere through the hollow world

They fight heroically with bandages, with monitors, with labels,

with the greenhouse effects of synthetic happiness

And shout freedom “freedom, freedom”

Of course we’re vulnerable, I told him

Troy has not yet fallen inside us

__________________________________________________
image: Nara Lee

Leave a comment