Better

They would have better attacked me like beasts

Since they hunted me

Not to come as minstrels, as explorers, as wisemen

They would have better left me dressed

Since they couldn’t enjoy my nakedness

I wish they gave me at least a flower, a pot or a some soil

Blindfolded me if they couldn’t help themselves

Let me drink the oblivion elixir

Hid my mirrors

Not to let me see

What a body looks like after being robbed

of desire

Gerhard Richter

They’d better have taken me to a temple

And stabbed me there

They’d better have thrown me into the sea

With a boulder around the neck

 Like they used to do with witches

They’d have better cut my hair

and left me alone in a dark forest

Maybe the wolves would have seen a resemblance in me and took me in their packs

Maybe the beavers would have hidden me in their burrows

 

Even better,  they would have abandoned me in the desert

Maybe a Tuareg would have taken me hostage

He would have dug through dozens of layers of melancholy

After my sleeping smile

Maybe an outcast, a loony

Would have looked for me and taken me to the edge of the world

He would have buried me in his silence

 

They would have been better stuck the knife in the chest that they robbed

 At the end

Since they didn’t desire me

Since they couldn’t love me

Leave a comment